Map of Bełchatów
Ewangelicka No 2
The Synaogue of Bełchatów was errected in 1893 in Ewangelicka
Street (now 19 Stycznia Street). The Nazis demolished and closed it during WWII. The ruined
building was finally torn down in 1956. A commemoration plaque was placed
in 1989 on the opposite side of the street.
The house behind the synagogue was the site of the kahal and Talmud
Tora school ("cheder").
In the 1960s an
apartment building was built on this spot (ul. 19 Stycznia No 2).
The cheder building
surrived the war and became the office of the weaving coop "Czyn
Majowy". Now an apartment building stands there.
More information on
BACK TO MAP