Map of Bełchatów
Nowy Rynek - North site
Nowy Rynek (New Market) was connected with Stary Rynek by
the Ewangelicka Street. lIt functioned sometimes as a market place,
for horse selling. Its north side conscisted of one- and two- story
brick houses, built after 1900. Behind them there were yards,
fields. Jewish and Polish families lived there.
House No 2 - One story house which belonged to the Wozniak
family. In the yard there was a carpenter workshop.
House No 4 - The highest in Belchatow at those times,
three story house belonged to W. Mietkiewicz, owner of the shop at
Many families lived there.
House No 6 -
House No 8 -
House No 10 -
House No 12 - it was a property of Belchatowski family.
Apartmens and rooms with weaving mills were situated there.
House No 14 - House of J. Kepalski. A post office
was situated here in 1930th.
House No 16 -
House No 18 - before 1890 it belonged to Ostrowski, the
house was later sold to Mr. Kepalski. A library was situated there.
House No 20 -
built 1930 on an empty property. In 2nd floor the family of the
physicioan Mr. W. Kowalewski lived there. Downstairs there
was a restaurant of F. Pawelczyk. Now - a music school.
The first Jewish cemetery was somewhere there, just opposite the
Waska Street , before the regular one at Lipowa Street was opened
in 19th century.
Below buildings at Nowyy
Plac Wolnosci) No 2-6
More information on
BACK TO MAP